Masters six – a – side cricket results

By:  M.H.Yakeem 
Vintage Cricketers Circle Champs at Masters six- a-side tournament.
Vintage Cricketers Circle beat Kotte Kings in a nail biting finish in the Masters six-a-side , which was played for the Colin Thabrew Memorial Trophy at the P.Sara Stadium, Colombo Oval on December 4.
08 teams participated in this inaugural tournament and was divided into 2 groups and played on a league basis.
Old Senanayakians , Old Zahiirians, Northern Masters and Royal Masters were in group A, Champions,  Vintage Cricketers Circle,  Kotte Kings and Lanka Cavaliers in group B.
Each team had to play 3 matches each, which the organisers decided to restrict the game to 4 balls an over due to the time factor concerned.
In group A , Northern Masters were unlucky to enter the Semis with a fine display of Cricket , due to the calculation of the run rate,  where the other 2 teams, Royal Masters and Old Senanayakians having an edge,  which all 3 winning 2 games and losing 1.
In group B too was the same as group A, which Kotte Kings and Vintage Cricketers Circle were ahead of Lanka Cavaliers on the run rate.
The most surprising moments of the game was  Kotte Kings beating Vintage Cricketers Circle in the league and bounced back to enter the Finals with a win over Royal Masters in the semi finals
In the finals ,Kotte kings taking first least  made up a gallant 77/2, which was 6 balls an over,  In reply Vintage Cricketers Circle came back strongly and in the last ball they had to score 4 runs for victory, which they did it in style to emerge as Champs in this inaugural tournament making 78/ 2.