32nd AGM of the Sri Lanka – Canada Business Council of The Ceylon Chamber of Commerce


The 32nd Annual General Meeting of the Sri Lanka – Canada Business Council (SLCBC) of the Ceylon Chamber of Commerce was held recently, with the High Commissioner of Canada to Sri Lanka and the Maldives His Excellency Eric Walsh gracing the occasion as the Chief Guest.

The SLCBC elected a new Committee for the year 2023/24, with Mr. Priyantha Padmasiri Chandrasekara – Chairman,  Thames International Educational Consultancy (Pvt) Ltd re – elected as President. Addressing the gathering, Mr. Chandrasekara provided a review of the Councils’ many activities to promote bilateral trade and investment between Sri Lanka and Canada, and highlighted the consistent support received from the High Commission of Canada in Sri Lanka, which ensured the success of the Council’s efforts in this sphere.  

The Council also elected Capt. Gayan Gunawardena – CEO, Ceyline Shipping (Pvt) Ltd, and  Mr. M H K M Hameez Director, Spillburg Holdings (Private) Limited as Vice – Presidents for 2023/24.

The Committee members for the Year 2023 – 2024 are Mr. Gihan Silva – CEO, Eduko Lanka (Pvt) Ltd. and Universal College Lanka, Mr. A R M Irshad, MD – Global Academy of Further Education, Ms. Osanthi Samantha Watawana – COO – Asia Institute of Business & Science (Pvt) Ltd., Mr. Hamza Alibhoy, Assistant General Manager – McLarens Holdings (Pvt) Ltd., and Ms. Dilanka Herath, GM – United Ventures (Pvt) Ltd.  Mr. Rajah Abesinghe – CEO, Hydromec International Private Limited will serve as the Immediate Past President, while Mr. Lionel D C Silva – Chairman, Lidechsi Group of Companies, will serve as an Honorary Member.