Hon. Speaker to extend support towards the establishment of a Sectoral Oversight Committee and three new Standing Committees


Hon. Mahinda Yapa Abeywardana, the Speaker of Parliament announced to the House today (08) that the appointment of 17 Sectoral Oversight Committees to be established in Parliament has been included in the Order Paper of the Parliament for the purpose of obtaining the approval of the House.

Furthermore, regarding the committees to be established, the Hon. Speaker requested all Parliamentarians to extend necessary support to reach a conclusive decision and to begin its process.

Accordingly, approval for incidental matters related to these Sectoral Oversight Committees, and the establishment of the three Committees of, Committee on Banking and Financial Services, the Committee on Economic Stabilization and the Committee on Ways and Means is to be obtained at the meetings of the Committee on Parliamentary Business and the Committee of Selection to be held today (08).