Hon. Dinesh Gunawardena arrive in Parliament for the first time after assuming duties as the Prime Minister


Hon. Dinesh Gunawardena, who became the 32nd Prime Minister of Sri Lanka, arrived in Parliament today (27) for the first time after assuming the position.

Ministers including the new Leader of the House Minister Hon. Susil Premajayantha, Chief Government Whip Hon. Prasanna Ranatunga, Hon. Yadamini Gunawardena, Member of Parliament, Mr. Anura Dissanayake, Secretary to the Prime Minister, Mr. Harsha Wijewardana, Secretary to the Leader of the House and Additional Secretary to the Prime Minister, Mr. Chaminda Kularatne, Secretary to the Chief Government Whip and Additional Secretary to the President, received the Prime Minister in front of the main door of the Parliament.

The Prime Minister Hon. Dinesh Gunawardena then arrived to the Prime Minister’s office located in the Parliament through the special door reserved for the President and the Prime Minister, where several Members of Parliament including Hon. Vasudeva Nanayakkara, Hon. (Dr.) Bandula Gunawardana, Hon. Nimal Lanza, Hon. Sisira Jayakody, Hon. (Dr.) Gayashan Nawananda were present to convey their wishes to the new Prime Minister.

Secretary General of Parliament Mr. Dhammika Dasanayake, Chief of Staff and Deputy Secretary General Ms. Kushani Rohanadeera, Assistant Secretary General Mr. Tikiri Jayathilake and Sergeant-At- Arms Mr.  Narendra Fernando were also present on this occasion.