Trade Finance Association of Bankers holds 2021/2022 AGM


 The Trade Finance Association of Bankers (TFAB) held its 24th Annual General Meeting in April, at the Rainbow Room, Grand Oriental Hotel, Colombo under strict covid health guidelines.

This Association formed in 1997 has been actively engaged in upgrading banking skills of its member through a variety of activities, networking and tapping the experience of industry veterans to share their knowledge with newer entrants to the trade finance field.

TFAB membership comprises almost all commercial banks operating in Sri Lanka with office-bearers elected every year at the AGM. An Advisory Committee comprising four senior bankers and past overlooks and guides activities of the association.

The following office bearers were elected for 2021/2022 during the Annual General Meeting:

President – Lawrian Somanader – Chief Manager, Exports, Commercial Bank of Ceylon PLC.

Senior Vice President – Rochelle Fernando – Assistant General Manager – Trade Services – Bank of Ceylon.

Vice President- Shyam De Silva – Manager Operations – Centralized Trade Processing, Hatton National Bank PLC.

Secretary General – K. R. Naguleswaran – Assistant Vice President, Correspondent Banking and Remittances, DFCC Bank PLC.

Treasurer – Kasun Muthukuda – Manager – Trade and Supply Chain Finance, Nations Trust Bank PLC.

Assistant Secretary – Indika Liyanage – Senior Manager, Trade Services, Pan Asia Banking Corporation PLC.

Assistant Treasurer- Kanchana De Silva – Senior Manager – Trade Operations – Union Bank of Colombo PLC.

Council Members: Gaya Manamperi (Formerly at Sampath Bank PLC); Manjula Gunawardana (NDB Bank PLC); Neil Handapangoda, (Citi Bank N.A.); Susantha Weerasinghe (People’s Bank); Tharinda Amarasinghe, (Sampath Bank PLC); Niranjan Dabare, (Deutsche Bank AG); K. K. Susantha, (Bank of Ceylon); Saroja Pathirana, (Sampath Bank PLC); Thilanke Weerasinghe, (The Hongkong and Shanghai Banking Corporation Limited); Dilan Wijegoonawardena, (Seylan Bank PLC); Shehani Peter, (Standard Chartered Bank); Malithi Maheeka, (Cargills Bank); Eranda Weerakoon, (Doha Bank).

Immediate Past President: A. S. M. W. Kumarasiri (Assistant General Manager, Trade Finance, People’s Bank).