Hon. A.H.M Fowzie takes oath as Member of Parliament


Hon. A.H.M Fowzie was sworn in as a member of the 9th Parliament today (09) before Speaker Hon. Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena.

After being sworn in before the Speaker, he signed the Member Roll kept in the presence of the Secretary General of Parliament Mr. Dhammika Dasanayake.

Hon. A.H.M Fowzie has been appointed to fill the vacancy due to the resignation of Hon. Mujibur Rahman of the Samagi Jana Balawegaya (SJB) party.

Born on 13.10.1937, Hon. Fowzie entered in to active politics in 1959. He was elected as the Deputy Mayor of Colombo in 1968 and was elected as the 16th Mayor of Colombo in 1973. Hon. Fawzi, who was elected to the Western Provincial Council in 1993, contested the 1994 general election and was elected to Parliament. He has also held many different ministerial posts.