Chaminda steers Colombo Masters to a thrilling 2 wickets win

By M.H.Yakeem
Chaminda Rajapaksa with an all round performance stroking 70 runs in 51 balls including  3 fours and 4 sixes and claiming 2 vital scalps steered Colombo Masters to a thrilling 2 wickets win over Legends of Richmond in their Masters 35 overs Cricket encounter played at the Sappher Stadium (Mattegoda  Army Camp grounds) recently.
Legends of Richmond taking first lease of the wicket,  Lasantha de Silva and Nishantha Mendis  opening the innings and Lasantha de Silva trying to push the score fast was unfortunately dismissed stroking 21 runs.  Wickets falling at regular intervals made Legends of Richmond reeling at 6 down for 101 runs at one stage,  Nishantha Mendis playing a magnificent role got the score board ticking with a well compiled 82 runs and went on to retire  with valuable support coming from C.K. Hewamanna and Asitha de Silva scoring 39 runs and 11 runs respectively guided them to a commanding position.  Chaminda Rajapaksa and Pujitha Gunawardena shared the bowling honors capturing 2 scalps each.
Colombo Masters chasing this challenging total,  four of their top order batters were back in the pavilion at the score at 82 runs,  but Suranjith Dharmasena a capable batter playing an elegant innings made 33 runs and with Chaminda Rajapaksa coming in the middle order,  turned the game in favour of Colombo Masters with a quickfire 70 runs 51 balls ( 4 X 3 ,  6 X 4 ) and contributions coming from Mahendra Arthanayake , Palitha Liyanage,  Pujitha Gunawardena  and the ninth wicket pair Thusitha Illangamage 13 not out and Riyad Fowzie 3 not out  saw them through  with 11 balls to spare.  The pick  of the bowlers were Prasanna Ramanayake claiming 3 wickets and Asoka Sirimanne bagging 2 scalps.
Legends of Richmond   –  198/9 in 35 overs
Lasantha de Silva  21 ,  C.K. Hewamanna 39 ,
Asitha de Silva  11, Nishantha Mendis 82 retired,  Chaminda Rajapaksa 2 / 47 ,  Pujitha Gunawardena 2 /20
Colombo Masters  –  199 /8  in  33.1 overs
Mahendra Arthanayake  10 , Palitha Liyanage  12 , Pujitha Gunawardena  13, Suranjith Dharmasena 33 , Chaminda Rajapaksa 70 , Thusitha Illangamage  13 not out,  Prasanna Ramanayake  3 / 29 , Asoka Sirimanne  2 / 27