The Consultative Committee agrees to the Personal Data Protection Bill


The Ministerial Consultative Committee on Technology which met yesterday (08), agreed to present the Personal Data Protection Bill to Parliament for the second reading.

The agreement regarding the aforesaid was reached at the Committee meeting of the Ministerial Consultative Committee on Technology chaired by Hon. Namal Rajapaksa, Minister of Youth & Sports, Minister of Development Co-ordination and Monitoring and State Minister of Digital Technology and Enterprise Development.

This Ministerial Consultative Committee is chaired by His Excellency the President Gotabaya Rajapaksa.

The Personal Data Protection Bill intends to provide for the Regulation of Processing of Personal Data; to identify and strengthen the Rights of Data Subjects in relation to the protection of Personal Data; to provide for the designation of the Data Protection Authority; and to provide for matters connected therewith or incidental thereto.

State Ministers Hon. Prasanna Ranaweera, Hon. Janaka Wakkumbura, Hon. Thenuka Vidanagamage and Members of Parliament Hon. Mayantha Dissanayake, Hon. Yadamini Gunawardena, Hon. A. Aravindh Kumar, Hon. (Dr.) Thilak Rajapakshe, Hon. Nipuna Ranawaka, Hon. Hon. D. Weerasingha were present at this meeting.