Dr. Prasantha Jayamanna assumes duties as the Chairman of Sri Lanka Ports Authority


Dr. Prasantha Jayamanna assumed duties as the Chairman of Sri Lanka Ports Authority (SLPA) on 20th January 2022. The appointment was made  by Minister of Ports and Shipping, Rohitha Abeygunawardena.

Dr. Jayamanna is a Doctor of Business Administration, most awarded Youngest Entrepreneur in Sri Lanka, and Leadership Lecturer with vast knowledge in the implementation of strategic solution.

He holds a Master’s Degree in Business Administration from the University of Western Sydney – Australia, OPM from the Harvard Business School and LPI from the Harvard University. He is a Certified Lecturer for Australian Institute of Business (AIB), Australian Institute of Management (AIM), Heriot Watt University –UK, University of Bedfordshire – UK, Visiting Lecture for Asian Institute of Technology (AIT),  MSc, MBA and PhD Lecturer for all above institutions from 2012 onward.  Prior to his new appointment, he was also the Vice Chairman of SLPA.

His twitter account describes him as; Doctor of Business Administration, Chairman of DPJH, Most awarded Youngest Entrepreneur in Sri Lanka, Leadership Lecturer and Nationalist.

Expressing views, the SLPA Chairman, Dr. Prasantha Jayamanna expressed his gratitude to Minister of Ports and Shipping, Rohitha Abegunawardena for appointing him in the position. He said that the development agenda prepared on the instructions by Hon. Minister, through about 15 cabinet papers for a diverse array of port sector development programmes will be expedited aiming  enhanced benefits to the national economy and to boost efficiency and productivity of the Sri Lankan port sector.

“Our objective, through collective efforts is to develop the Sri Lankan port sector towards the expected objectives of the maritime and port industry as well expressed in the policy statement ‘Vistas of Prosperity and Splendour’ of His Excellency the President Gotabaya Rajapaksa and make Sri Lanka the maritime hub of South Asia,” he said.

Dr. Prasantha Jayamanna is the founder, Chairman of DPJ Holdings & Affiliated Companies. In addition to that Dr. Jayamanna has been appointed as a Senior Advisor to the Hon. Minister of Ports & Shipping. He also  sits on the Boards of several publicly listed and Private Companies such as South Asia Gateway Terminals Pvt. Ltd (SAGT), Colombo International Container Terminals Ltd. (CICT), Hambantota International Port Group Company Pvt. Ltd. (HIPG), Hambantota International Port Services Company Pvt. Ltd. (HIPS), Lanka Coal Company Ltd. etc.

He is a most awarded youngest Entrepreneur in Sri Lanka and awards and appreciations received are, Sri Lanka Entrepreneur of the Year 2014 (National Award), Sri Lanka Entrepreneur of the Year 2013 (National Award), Academy for Global Business Advancement (AGBA), Distinguished Doctoral Dissertation Award – 2012, Ceylon National Chamber of Industries Achievers Award – 2012, Sri Lanka Entrepreneur of the Year 2012  (National Award), COYLE Award of Excellence for Outstanding Performance-2011, Sri Lanka Entrepreneur of the Year 2011  (National Award), COYLE (Chamber of Young Lankan Entrepreneurs) Award of Excellence for Outstanding Performance-2010, Silver Award for ICT Sector in the National Business Excellence Awards -2010, National Award given as a salute of COYLE valued member for my achievements, Outstanding Young Entrepreneur of Sri Lanka Award Winner (TOYP 2009), Sri Lanka Entrepreneur of the Year 2008.

Attending the event, Minister of Ports and Shipping, Rohitha Abeygunawardena said that through the appointment of Dr. Prasantha Jayamanna as the Chairman of SLPA, he expected the launch of a new journey in the Sri Lankan port sector to make a brighter future by  successfully overcoming  the challenges in the next three years.

He also said that all port sector development projects including the East Container Terminal (ECT) of the Port of Colombo should be successfully completed to commence operations during the tenure of His Excellency the President Gotabaya Rajapaksa.

“Already about two years out of the  five year tenure of the present Government have been subjected to challenges of the Covid-19 pandemic and the next three years therefore, is a time that all should work with a greater responsibility with an accurate course of duty to overcome all challenges,” he said.

Secretary to the Ministry of Ports and Shipping – U. D. C. Jayalal, Members of the SLPA Board of Directors, Directors of SLPA including its Managing Director –  Upul Jayatissa, several higher officials of institutions of the line Ministry, Additional Managing Director (Technical) of SLPA – Susantha Abeysiriwardana, SLPA Heads of Divisions, representatives of local shipping agents, Chairperson of Ceylon Association of Shipping Agents (CASA) – Ms. Shehara De Silva and several SLPA trade union representatives were also present at the occasion.