Legends of Richmond Vs Old Kingswoodians

By M.H.Yakeem 
C.k.Hewamanna’s ton helps Legends of Richmond annex the Nihal Gunawardena Challenge Trophy.
Legends of Richmond overcame old Kingswoodians by 11 runs in their annual traditional Masters Cricket 30 overs encounter, organised by the old Richmondnites and played for the Nihal Gunawardena Challenge Trophy on the 16 at the Bloomfield grounds.
Lasantha de Silva and his team took a great interest to organise this match as a traditional game between the two  teams which they called has brother Schools and continue annually, where the old Kingswoodians will host next year.
The oldest player to play in this traditional encounter was Veteran Rohan Raj Perera, a famous 60 plus all rounder was keen to play in this game on behalf of his alma mater
” Kingswoodi College ” and Skipper Tissa Wijeratne and his brother Lalith Wijeratne, a famous ruggerite also played in this game for old Kingswoodians are in their early sixties.
Legends of Richmond, winning the toss and elected to bat, lost their early 5 wickets for a mere 21 runs and C.K.Hewamanna together with Dilshan Amarasuriya got the score board ticking with a solid 6th wicket partnership of 90 runs and with the dismal of Dilshan Amarasuriya  scoring 27 runs and the score at 111 runs , Aasitha de Silva joining C.K.Hewamanna who was on 62 not out, played an important role to support his team mate to reach his century at this annual traditional encounter. Suwanji Madanayake was the pick of the bowlers, taking 3 scalps for 21 runs.
Old Kingswoodians chasing this total, openers Buddhika Ekanayake and Dharshana Kalansuriya taking up the challenge gave them  a good start  and the dismissal of these two batsmen and Palitha Liyanage coming 5 down , played an entertaining knock along with  Suwanji Madanayake to keep the spectators excited and with the dismal  of Palitha Liyanage all hopes of reaching the target was impossible.
Legends of Richmond  – 185 / 7 in 30 overs
C.K.Hewamanna not out 103 ( 4 x 12, 6 x 6 ), Dilshan Amarasuriya 27, Aasitha de Silva 26, Suwanji Madanayake 3 / 21
Old Kingswoodians –  174 all out in 29.5 overs
Buddhika Ekanayake 42, Dharshana Kalansuriya 25, Palitha Liyanage 33, Suwanji Madanayake 25, Asoka Sirimanne 2 / 27, Samantha Lorensuhewa 2 / 32, Aasitha de Silva 2 / 27