Sri Lanka Ports Authority commences 2022


Sri Lanka Ports Authority (SLPA) commenced duties in the new year on 03rd January 2022. A religious function was held to mark the occasion with the initiative of Minister of Ports And Shipping – Rohitha Abegunawardena and the Chairman of SLPA – Capt. Nihal Keppetipola at the Sri ‘Sambuddhathwa Jayanthi Chaithya’ Premises.

Expressing views at the occasion, the Minister said that despite challenges of the previous  year, steps would be taken to make Sri Lanka a country reawakened by focusing on developed countries and their success stories.

He also said that the Phase II of the East Container Terminal (ECT) of the Port of Colombo (POC) that was constructed under the implantations of the National Policy Framework Vistas of Prosperity and Splendour of His Excellency the President Gotabaya Rajapaksa was scheduled to be commenced on 12th January this year, and parallel to such, plans had already been made to expedite the constructions of the West Container Terminal (WCT).

Expressing views at the occasion, the Chairman of SLPA said that 2022 was identified a year to fulfill a number of aspirations missed by trade and shipping industry, the country and the world as a whole.

He said that in the face of Covid-19  global pandemic, being the heart of Sri Lanka, the Port of Colombo succeeded to continue port activities and operations to feed the national economy and efficient, dedicated and productive service of all employees of SLPA was commended for securing and safeguarding the credibility kept by the port’s local and international customers and clients.

Emphasizing the objectives aimed at in the new year, the SLPA Chairman said that schedules had already been made to  expedite all activities to expand the operational capacity of the Port of Colombo.

He expressed his gratitude to the President, Prime Minister and Minister of Ports and Shipping for their guidance and immense contribution towards making these initiatives and activities a success.

The Chairman also thanked all employees and port trade unions for their participation in the process.

Secretary to the Ministry of Ports and Shipping – U. D. C. Jayalal, Secretary to the State Ministry of Container Warehouse Facilities, Container Yards, Port Supply Facilities and Boats and Shipping Industry Development – D. D. Mataraarachchi, SLPA’s Vice Chairman – Dr. Prasantha Jayamanna, Managing Director – Upul Jayatissa, Additional Managing Director (Technical) – A. A. S. R. Abeysiriwardana, a number of Directors of SLPA, Heads of Divisions, Executive Officers, employees and port trade union representatives were  also present at  the event.