Committee on Election Law Reforms receives 115 proposals

The Committee Meeting in progress.

The Parliamentary Select Committee on Election Law Reforms has so far received 115 proposals with regard to the law reforms of the Elections and Elections Structure, Committee Chairperson, Leader of the House Minister, Dinesh Gunawardena said at the Committee Meeting at the Parliament premises on July 7.

The Minister said that seven recognized political parties have sent proposals and other parties can submit proposals until August 15.

Proposals can be sent to [email protected] or to the Secretary, Parliamentary Select Committee, Parliament of Sri Lanka, Sri Jayawardenapura, Kotte.

The committee also tabled proposals from the public up to June 30, 2021 regarding the law reforms of the Elections and Election structure and the summary of those proposals was considered at the meeting.

The Committee also focused on the appointment of an Expert Committee on the ongoing reforms.

Cabinet Ministers – Nimal Siripala de Silva, Prof. G. L Peiris, Douglas Devananda, Members of Parliament – Anura Dissanayake, Kabir Hashim, Ranjith Madduma Bandara, M. A Sumanthiran, Madura Vithanage, Sagara Kariyawasam and Jeewan Thondaman were present.