Royal–Thomian Masters Cricket

Picture courtesy/source:

By:  Nalin Jayetileke

The Royal Thomian Masters Cricket match for the Sasi Ganeshan Trophy is being played today at the NCC Grounds. It will be a 30 overs a side match, and is expected to be a thrilling masters game to watch with some of the former Great Thomian and Royal Cricketers in action.

The Thomians have done well this season with Wajira Wijegunawardena, Naresh Adikaram and Anura Bullankulame getting into form with some fantastic knocks during the matches played against the Lanka Cavilers and Kotte Masters whist Ishak Sahabdeen and Tiran Thenabadu has been impressive with the ball.

All that being said, all eyes would be on Captain Mahinda Halangodathe, the Thomian Great who put the brakes on the Royalist during the centenary Royal Thomian in 1979 where the Media reported saying” Halangoda -Richards Stand built on true Thomian Grit” Hence, An all-round performance from him, can do the needful for the Thominas.

For the Royal Masters, Nalliah Devarajan who was in form during the last Roytho scoring over 50 runs have not been in form this season but is expected to offer resistance to the Thomian Bowling being a gritty and a fighting Cricketer. Others to watch from the Royalist would be to see if the wicket keeping gloves would be shared between the two brothers Nalin De Alwis and Anura De Alwis both being former top class wicket keepers.

The Royal Team from

Nalliah Devarajan (Captain)

Nalin De Alwis

Lasantha Perera

Darsha Abeywardena

Amal Karunaratne

Sajit Liyanage

Sisila Indraratne

Nuwan Perera

Hiran Mallawatantri

Chintha Edirimanna

Gihan Shiromal

Anura De Alwis

Shezard Nizar

Chamila Perera

Narendra Perera


The Thomian Team from

Mahinda Halangoda (Captain)

Johan Pieris

Deepal Ahangama

Sunil Wejeratne

Ishak Shahabdeen

Ramesh Wannakuwatha

Amitha Abenayake

Anura Bulankulama

Suresh Bulankulama

Naresh Adikaram

Vajira Wijegunawardena

Tiran Thenabadu

Sajith Gunaratne would like to wish both teams all the very best!