The Consultative Committee of Foreign approves the Prevention of Terrorism (Temporary Provisions) (Amendment) Bill.


The Ministerial Consultative Committee on Foreign, which met on the 11th, agreed to present the Prevention of Terrorism (Temporary Provisions) (Amendment) Bill to Parliament for the second reading.

The agreement regarding the aforesaid was reached at the Committee meeting of the Ministerial Consultative Committee on Foreign chaired by the Hon. (Prof.) G. L. Peiris, Foreign Minister. The Bill was presented in Parliament for its first reading on February 10th.

Accordingly, the Bill inclusive of amendments in accordance with the Determination of the Supreme Court, was approved at the Ministerial Consultative Committee and the report is scheduled to be presented to the Parliament on the forthcoming sitting week.

Hon. Ali Sabry, Minister of Justice and Members of Parliament Hon. Mayantha Dissanayake, Hon. Madhura Withanage, Hon. (Dr.) Suren Raghavan, Hon. (Prof.) Charitha Herath, Hon. Isuru Dodangoda were present at the Committee meeting held.