By Dian Abeyewardene

The top four seeds in the 131st Sri Lanka Amateur Golf Championship won their respective 1st & 2nd Round Matches to reach the Quarter-final stage, at the Royal Colombo Golf Club Course.

Top Seed Uchitha Ranasinghe beat Gehan Siribaddana 5 & 4 and overcame the tough challenge from National Player M H Chalitha Pushpika 1 Up, setting up an exciting quarter-final match with Ahaan Nath from India, who received a Walk-over in the 1st Round and defeated R Sureshan 5 & 4 a shade with consummate ease. The top seed faces his first real challenge in the championship and it promises to be an interesting battle.

2nd Seeded J M D Indika beat RCGC Vice Captain W A K Fernando who went down fighting in the 1st Round and won 2 & 1 over Vinoth Kumar from NEGC, based in Qatar Golf Club. Indika meets M U Chanaka Perera, a solid future prospect for Sri Lanka who beat Affli Raheem (8&6) and Zubair Hussain (2 & 1) from Pakistan.

G M Pradeep Kumara, seeded # 3, won his two matches comfortably defeating T Jayaseelan (7&6), and Rosana Prasad (4&3), whilst 4th Seed, B A Sanjeewa beat S. Dhuwarshan (8 & 7) and P D S U Kumara (6 & 4) decisively. Sanjeewa battles Sisira Kumara, the Runner-up of the last two consecutive Sri Lanka Amateur Golf Championships, determined to make it third time lucky!! Sisira Kumara literally scraped through coming from behind being down in both matches to snatch victory from the jaws of defeat, from RCGC Club Champion Sachin De Silva in the 1st Round 3 & 2 and then in the 2nd Round overcame Sampath Kelum in the Sudden-death 19th Hole, after being 2 down playing the 16th Hole!!!

The best match of the day came in the final match of the second round between N. Amarapathma, veteran Sri Lankan Amateur and Ashiq Hussain the Pakistan National Champion in 2017 & 2018, engaged in a ding-dong battle with the lead changing hands but Ashiq Hussain held the reins going to the 17th hole 1 up, until Amarapathma holed a sloping 15 foot birdie putt to square the match. The evenly matched players halved the 18th, 19th, 20th 21st in fading light and eventually Amarapathma gave way, mishitting his Tee shot on the 22nd and Ashiq sealed the victory with a crisp iron to the green and 2 putts to Amarapathma’s Bogey from way right of the green covered by the trees.

The Quarter-Final & Semi-final will be worked off in the morning and afternoon today at the RCGC followed by the 36 hole final on Thursday.

The 121st Sri Lanka Ladies Amateur Golf Championship 2018, qualifying rounds completed with Taniya Minel Balasuriya, seeded # 1, clearly ahead of the field 10 strokes from Kayla Perera Seeded # 2. Seeded # 3 was, Zaib-Un-Nisa of Pakistan and Niloo Jayathilake pipped Suneya Osama from Pakistan to be the 4th Seed. The Ladies Amateur Golf Championship Sponsored by DSL – Douglas Sons Limited – Continental – the future in motion and Look Amazing Pvt Ltd, promises an interesting battle between the Pakistan duo and the Sri Lankan future in motion and Look Amazing Pvt Ltd, promises an interesting battle between the Pakistan duo and the Sri Lankan youngsters, with Taniya Minel favoured to defend her Champion Title she won last year.

The quarter finals and the semi-finals of the Ladies Amateur Golf Championship 2018 will commence at 7.00 a.m. and 12.50 p.m. respectively today and exciting Golf is expected.

The quarter finals and semi-finals of the 131st Continental Sri Lanka Amateur Golf Championship, sponsored by DSL – Continental – the future in motion, will Tee-off at 7.30 a.m. and 12.30 p.m. respectively alongside the 2018 Ladies Amateur Golf Championship, co-sponsored by LUSH Beauty & Health Care Clinique. The second oldest golf championship in the world, 131st edition promises to be a classic encounter with high expectations of a Sri Lankan Champion again since 2013.


  1. A. Ranasinghe vs Ahaan Nath (Ind)

B A Sanjeewa vs Sisira Kumara

J M D Indika vs M U Chanaka Perera

G M Pradeep Kumara vs Ashiq Hussain (PAK)

121st Sri Lanka Ladies Amateur Golf Championship 2018 Quarter Final Draw

Taniya Minel Balsuriya (Seed #1) vs Yun Jeong Choi

Niloo Jayathilake (Seed #4) vs Suneya Osama (PAK)

Kayla Perera (Seed #2) vs Swen Selvaratnam

Zaib Un Nisa (PAK) (Seed # 3) vs Sherin Mithara Balasuriya